top of page

#WhateverWednesday: 2019 Reading Goals

Welcome to the first episode of WHATEVER WEDNESDAY! The post were the points don't matter and everything is made up! Each week I will be delivering a dose randomness, all about the book world. Everything is fair game, from goals to books I hate, to my writing.


So without further ado, here we go!


2018 was a great year for me, over all. I moved across country, started a new job, read over 50 books and more. If 2019 is half as awesome as 2018 was -- I'm in for a great year!


Since it's the beginning of the year, today I will tackle this year's reading goals. There are a few different challenges (both self imposed and following along) that I am participating in this year:

Monthly TBR Challenge

Pop Sugar 2019 Reading Challenge

Series ReRead 2019


GOODREADS READING CHALLENGE


The challenge that I do EVERY year, along with millions of others, is of course the GoodReads Reading Challenge. Each year I increase the number of books I'm aiming to read. Last year, it ws 45. This year it is 75. That's a HUGE jump in numbers buuuut I also have dedicated myself to reviewing more books this year, so I know I'll knock it out of the park. :) I have already checked one off my list, and I'm almost done with number two. I'd say that's off to a great start!

If you aren't familiar with the GoodReads Challenge, it's easy enough to follow and jump on board. There is no list of prompts, no rules or requirements beyond pick a number and consume enough literature to meet that goal. This can include novels, novellas, shorts, flash fiction, non fiction, YA, audiobooks, SCIFI, General Fiction....you get the idea. Anything you want to read, read it, enjoy it, log it. You would be amazed at how much you actually read (or maybe not, I don't know you.) when you log all of the stories over the year.


As I mentioned before, my specific goal for this year is 75 books. If you'd like to join in, just head over to the Reading Challenge page!


MONTHLY TBR CHALLENGE


The second challenge this year is my monthly TBR challenge #secondhandlitbuddyread2019 with the fantastic Joanna from LITerature podcast! We have paired up to participate in a buddy read using ONLY books we have on our shelves and our TBR list. Read a book from your shelf - no buying books! REALLY! That's the biggest rule! We can only use books that we already own. NO CHEATING!


If you don't have the book, that's ok, you can always choose your own on your ever growing TBR to tackle that month with us!

Each month the BR starts on the 5th and end on the 20th.


Every month, Joanna and I will be posting a video on my booktube channel (RELAUNCH IS THIS WEEKEND YAYYY!!!!) and delving into our feelings on the book, what we loved, what we hated and more.


If you are interested in checking out Joanna (and Mich)'s podcast, you can find them here!


This is an awesome challenge that easily goes hand in hand with my next challenge for the year....



POP SUGAR 2019 READING CHALLENGE


This year is the 5th annual Pop Sugar Reading Challenge. This is the first year that I have participated in the challenge, and I'm already fucking myself up with it. I'm going to attempt to do an individual book for each prompt, but I'm sure that there will be some that over lap. We will survive.... I think...


Anyways, here is the full list of book prompts for the year. There are 40 on the regular list, and 10 on the advanced list. Some of these I'm SUPER excited about (A retelling of a classic, and a book by two female authors, YESS!) and some that are just down right weird... (Yes, I'm looking at you 'set in Scandanavia'). The challenge seemed like a great way to tackle my TBR list and also venture outside of my comfort zone. I'm extremely excited to see how well I progress over the next year!

Regular 1. A book becoming a movie in 2019 2. A book that makes you nostalgic 3. A book written by a musician (fiction or nonfiction) 4. A book you think should be turned into a movie 5. A book with at least one million ratings on Goodreads 6. A book with a plant in the title or on the cover 7. A reread of a favorite book 8. A book about a hobby 9. A book you meant to read in 2018 10. A book with POP, SUGAR, or CHALLENGE in the title 11. A book with an item of clothing or accessory on the cover 12. A book inspired by myth/legend/folklore 13. A book published posthumously 14. A book you see someone reading on TV or in a movie 15. A retelling of a classic 16. A book with a question in the title 17. A book set on college or university campus 18. A book about someone with a superpower 19. A book told from multiple POVs 20. A book set in space 21. A book by two female authors 22. A book with SALTY, SWEET, BITTER, or SPICY in the title 23. A book set in Scandinavia 24. A book that takes place in a single day 25. A debut novel 26. A book that's published in 2019 27. A book featuring an extinct or imaginary creature 28. A book recommended by a celebrity you admire 29. A book with LOVE in the title 30. A book featuring an amateur detective 31. A book about a family 32. A book author from Asia, Africa, or South America 33. A book with a zodiac sign or astrology term in title 34. A book that includes a wedding 35. A book by an author whose first and last names start with the same letter 36. A ghost story 37. A book with a two-word title 38. A novel based on a true story 39. A book revolving around a puzzle or game 40. Your favorite prompt from a past POPSUGAR Reading challenge

Advanced 41. A "cli-fi" (climate fiction) book 42. A "choose-your-own-adventure" book 43. An "own voices" book 44. Read a book during the season it is set in 45. A LitRPG book 46. A book with no chapters / unusual chapter headings / unconventionally numbered chapters 47. Two books that share the same title 48. Two books that share the same title 49. A book that has inspired a common phrase or idiom 50. A book set in an abbey, cloister, monastery, vicarage, or convent


SERIES REREAD 2019

The final challenge this year for me is a personal one that I am calling #SeriesReRead2019! I know, SO original. :) This challenge will require me to dive back into a world that I loved previously. I always feel like things are missed the first time around, things are forgotten or overlooked. Every favorite series deserves at least one reread, so this year I have 3 series that I am going to attempt to reread, from start to finish, before the end of 2019!

Those are:

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige.

Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Harry Potter by JK Rowling


Ok, so let's be real... everyone rereads HP every year, but I never make it all the way through. This year, that will be different! I will read them all! ALL THE BOOKS!


AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAND that escalated quickly.



So there you have it.. my 4 challenges on the first episode of WHATEVER WEDNESDAY! Tune in next week to find out what I think of the bookish fandom crazes!

Recent Posts

See All

Whatever Wednesday- Why I started reading again

Crazy Cat Lady here! This is my first Whatever Wednesday segment, and I am so excited to be a part of it. I am going to hit you hard and fast with my first post. Up until high school, I read all the t

The Come to Jesus Meeting....Book Version.

I recently realized, as I looked around my overflowing library, that as much as I AM in fact a second hand hauler on most fronts, I had become completely engrossed in the consumerism of the bookish wo

bottom of page